Landeshauptstadt Dresden - 13februar.dresden.de

https://13februar.dresden.de/index_en.php 10.02.2021 15:29:38 Uhr 17.09.2021 10:01:18 Uhr
  • burning candles in front of a church
    © Oleksiy Mark, Ernest Davies - stock.adobe.com

13 February 2021: lest we forget!

Every year on 13 February, the people of Dresden and numerous actors from civil society come together to commemorate the city’s destruction in World War II. Their common goal is to promote peace and denounce war and violence. The commemorative event for 13 February 1945 will take place again in 2021, albeit under completely different circumstances due to the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. The working group for February 13th has come to an agreement with representatives from Dresden’s churches, as well as volunteers and civil-society actors for Dresden’s culture of remembrance, the city’s cultural institutions and memorials, and various clubs, associations and initiatives.

In view of the extremely tense situation in the midst of the pandemic, the working group for February 13th has agreed to celebrate this year’s event without the usual human chain in Dresden city centre. Instead, the working group for February 13th is planning a small-scale commemoration on the evening of 13 February with the mayor and the rector of the Dresden University of Technology. This will be followed by a commemorative concert held by the Dresden Philharmonic, which will be streamed live from the Kulturpalast.

“In view of the extraordinary situation, I urge the people of Dresden to stay at home this year and join the working group for February 13th in symbolically commemorating the victims of war and tyranny. I would like to thank the members of the working group for February 13th for their commitment in these especially challenging times”, said Mayor Dirk Hilbert.

“We cannot just cancel our commemorative event for 13 February. Despite the difficulties presented by the current situation, we want to hold dignified events. But our main priority is to ensure everyone’s well-being. That’s why we are working closely with the working group for February 13th and other cultural, religious and social institutions to develop suitable concepts that will allow the people of Dresden to participate in various activities and experience the city’s culture of remembrance while continuing our efforts to curb the pandemic”, explained Annekatrin Klepsch, Deputy Mayor and Councillor for Culture and Tourism, who has been representing the mayor within the working group for February 13th since 2020.

Landeshauptstadt Dresden - 13februar.dresden.de

https://13februar.dresden.de/index_de.php 15.02.2021 08:31:55 Uhr 03.08.2021 18:29:24 Uhr

13. Februar 2021: Erinnern, um nicht zu wiederholen!

Jährlich am 13. Februar erinnern die Dresdnerinnen und Dresdner gemeinsam mit zahlreichen Akteuren aus der Zivilgesellschaft an die Zerstörung der Stadt im Zweiten Weltkrieg. Ihr gemeinsames Anliegen ist es, ein Zeichen für den Frieden und gegen Gewalt und Kriegsherrschaft zu setzen. Auch im Jahr 2021 soll das Gedenken an den 13. Februar 1945 stattfinden, wenn auch durch die Corona-Pandemie unter völlig anderen Voraussetzungen. Darüber ist sich die AG 13. Februar einig mit den Vertreterinnen und Vertretern der Dresdner Kirchen, der ehrenamtlichen und zivilgesellschaftlichen Dresdner Erinnerungskultur, der städtischen Kultureinrichtungen, der Gedenkstätten sowie der Vereine, Verbände und Initiativen.

Wegen der gegenwärtig sehr angespannten Pandemielage hat sich die AG 13. Februar verständigt, in diesem Jahr keine Menschenkette in der Dresdner Innenstadt durchzuführen. Stattdessen bereitet die AG 13. Februar ein Gedenken im kleinen Rahmen am Abend des 13. Februar mit dem Oberbürgermeister und der Rektorin der Technischen Universität Dresden vor. Im Anschluss wird die Dresdner Philharmonie ein Gedenkkonzert per Livestream aus dem Kulturpalast spielen.

„Ich bitte die Dresdnerinnen und Dresdner, in diesem Jahr aufgrund der besonderen Situation zu Hause zu bleiben und gemeinsam mit mir und der AG 13. Februar symbolisch der Opfer von Krieg und Gewaltherrschaft zu gedenken. Ich danke den Mitgliedern der AG 13. Februar für ihr Engagement auch in Zeiten mit besonderen Herausforderungen,“ so Oberbürgermeister Dirk Hilbert.

„Das Gedenken an den 13. Februar darf nicht ersatzlos ausfallen. Trotz der schwierigen Rahmenbedingungen wollen wir würdige Veranstaltungen durchführen. An oberster Stelle dabei steht aber die Gesundheit. Gemeinsam mit der AG 13. Februar und weiteren Institutionen aus Kultur, Religion und Gesellschaft arbeiten wir daher an pandemietaugliches Konzepten, die in verschiedenen Formen das Gedenken in der Stadt mit einer Vielzahl von Aktionen erlebbar machen wird,“ erläutert Annekatrin Klepsch, Zweite Bürgermeisterin und Beigeordnete für Kultur und Tourismus, die den Oberbürgermeister seit 2020 in der AG 13. Februar vertritt.